[arc review]: psi another day

PsiAnotherDay

Title: Psi Another Day
Author
D.R. Rosensteel
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Source
: eArc received from Publisher – thank you!
Pages: 352
In a nutshell: Juicy and witty read!
Psi Another Day

When spunky teen Rinnie is forced to bust out her secret Psi Fighter moves in school in order to bring downs its drug ring, she encounters a deeper plot…and a more sinister danger.
My name is Rinnie Noelle.
By day I’m just another girl in high school who likes lip gloss. But by night I’m a Psi Fighter—a secret guardian with a decade of training in the Mental Arts. Kinda like Batman, but without the cape.
Bad guys beware.
After screwing up my first mission, I’m now supposed to fix the problems at my school. Major, fly-catching yawn. Sure, drugs are bad, but what crime fighter wants to put bullies in detention when she can save the world from nefarious villains?
’Cause I will take you out.
But things heat up fast. Now I have two guys into me—yummy new kid, Egon, and my old nemesis-turned-nice-guy, Mason. Plus, word on the street is that a Walpurgis Knight, the Psi Fighter’s worst enemy, has infiltrated the school. And everyone is a potential suspect, even Mason and Egon. Darn. Fingers crossed I find the Knight before he finds me…

Banner (2)

My thoughts

Reenie is a Psi Fighter. A member of a secret society accomplishing things a superhero would do; thus they even wear masks and disguise their voice in order to hide their identity. Sounds pretty awesome, right? No wonder I was magically attracted to the book. And I’m telling you, the book is awesome. I mean, how amazing is the idea and book concept of the author? Not only are Psi Fighters totally cool, like ninjas, when it comes to fighting, no. They are also masters of the Mental Arts. Which means they can turn thoughts and memories into something physical or even into physical force; they can put all of their enemy’s feelings into a weapon and turn it against them. It was really refreshing to read about something new in the urban fantasy genre.

Nonetheless, there were some passages that occasionally made the book a little slow-paced, but which I expect to change in the upcoming sequels. Personally, I would’ve cut about 50 pages in the middle of the book: There are many great twists and surprises in the book, yet the action sometimes kind of slows down, e.g. when Reenie asks herself to what extend she can reveal her secret or even she has those “debriefing sessions” with her BFF Kathryn over and over again. Yes, Reenie does have to make a lot investigations on her mission, yet I wish Rosensteel would’ve come straight to some point ever now and again as I sometimes found myself overwhelmed by the amount of information you get in some chapters which made me mix up the names of some characters.
Also, Reenie sometimes gets a bit too naive for me. I mean, she is a funny and humorous person but it is not always understandable why she is a kick-ass and fearless fighter on the one side but quickly switches to become an annoying, drivel-talking girl on the other side. Such as shoting the breeze with her BFF Kathryn, chattering about girly things such as boys and stuff. It’s not as if I didn’t enjoy reading these passages….their friendship even reminded me of the funny relationship Gwen and Lesley share in the Ruby Red trilogy. Nonetheless, Reenie is clearly described as an almost-social outcast; oh-so-gorgeous Kathryn however is not. She decides not to hang up with the cool cliques but still, people are craving for her attention. For me, this just did not make sense. I did not get it either why Kathryn would ditch “date requests” from some of the most popular boys of her school, but, instead, fall for the totally nerdy and geekish boy of the school. Their relationship was really cute, though.
Which makes me come to the next point I want to talk about. As you might know, I’m one of the world’s biggest insta-love haters well as love triangle hater. Guess what? Both things were present in the book. I know those were indicated in the blurb but still, I was looking for that certain indefinable something that makes the romance in the book outstanding. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations; I’m neither Team Egon nor Team Mason. I mean, Egon offers Reenie to be her bodyguard during one of their first encounters. Wouldn’t you be creeped out, no matter if it was asked for fun or not? In this case, Reenie was too trustworthy for me (no, Egon does not become her bodyguard but Reenie falls hard for him).
However, except for the romance, Mason is a very interesting character, though – we meet him as a mean bully, but he turns out to be an ambitious, clever, caring but somehow broken boy. I’m eager to learn more about him in the next books.

Rosensteel keeps his writing light and simple; it is perfect for teenage readers. It is that style of writing that makes you enjoy the book but which you normally will quickly forget again after some time….
…if there weren’t Reenie’s voice: It’s sarcastic, cheek and totally fun! She knows how to handle each situation with charm, wit and humor which ultimately makes her a very likeable main character!

This book definitely deserves a solid 3.5 cupcakes. It gave me some very good reading moments and I totally recommend the book to readers who are looking for some new refreshing superhero stories in the fantasy genre.

3CC

Thank you to Entangled Teen for providing me with a review copy!

2 thoughts on “[arc review]: psi another day

Leave a Reply

