Review: Into the Fire

ITF-Banner

Title: Into the Fire

Publication date: September 9, 2014

Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.

Author: Ashelyn Drake

ITF-CoverSeventeen-year-old Cara Tillman’s life is a perfectly normal one until Logan Schmidt moves to Ashlan Falls. Cara is inexplicably drawn to him, but she’s not exactly complaining. Logan’s like no boy she’s ever met, and he brings out a side of Cara that she isn’t used to. As the two get closer, everything is nearly perfect, and Cara looks forward to the future.But Cara isn’t a normal girl. She’s a member of a small group of people descended from the mythical phoenix bird, and her time is running out. Rebirth is nearing, which means she’ll forget her life up to this point—she’ll forget Logan and everything they mean to one another.. But that may be the least of Cara’s problems.A phoenix hunter is on the loose, and he’s determined to put an end to the lives of people like Cara and her family, once and for all.Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Chapters Indigo! | TBD | iBooks
Into the Fire

AbtrennungThere are books that start off slow but turn out to be a real page-turner, and there are books like Into the Fire that start off with a BANG and still manage to keep you engrossed throughout the story.
Cara’s rebirth is getting closer which means she cannot afford to let new people into her life, especially boys like Logan. See her brother, Jeremy, who has just undergone his own rebirth — within minutes he has forgotten all about their close relationship. The pain that not only Cara, but also her family felt was almost seizable and it was seriously gut-wrenching seeing her helplessly watching her brother re-navigating in life again. Actually, the worst thing she could do is imprinting on a boy — but it happens and I really felt the cruelty and irony in falling heads over heels in love.
I’m usually not into those stories where a girl is torn between duty to her family and love, but in this book, each emotion is real, true to the MC’s life and background, both raw and edgy. I did not just know what emotions Cara felt, I lived them. I was able to empathize with her anger as well as her confusion although her relationship toher mother could have been better developed for my taste: I clearly saw that her mother meant well but some passages just felt too overblown — I mean I sometimes just wanted to jump up and tell them to speak with each other instead of avoiding confrontations. Nonetheless, Ashelyn Drake managed to bring the characters to life in a way that left me thinking about them long after I have finished the book.

Also, the book is told from dual POV which I really did not expect, namely Cara’s and Logan’s POVs. Both voices were so refreshing to read although I do have to say I enjoyed Logan’s voice slightly better. There is just something about the sarcasm and bluntness in the way he thinks and speaks. Cara’s voice has a sadder and more melancholy shade which clearly fits the plot, and it was so much fun seeing her loosen up in front of Logan. You just feel the chemistry between them, why they can’t keep their hands off from each other, and adding Drake’s casual writing style to that it was just the perfect love story I needed to read.

I do, however, have to say that the book’s focus is more on the romance than on the mythical phoenix aspect which was a little bit disappointing for a mythology geek like me. The thing is, the book felt more like a contemporary book for me and is strongly based on the characters’ development whereas the world building somewhat lacked in detail and originality. I know it sounds a little bit contradictive to what I have said before, and to do the book justice, I really did not feel bored for a second while I was reading the book, nor did I feel the urge to skip some pages. Nonetheless, I really would have liked to learn more about the phoenix mythology although we do get to know the “basics”, aka reincarnation etc..
That being said, I do have to say I really enjoyed the way the author embraced the mythology by creating the hunter theme and thus increasing the tension in the book: There are phoenix hunters who are on the prowl to kill people like Cara’s family to “steal” their life times.

The pacing in the last few pages was seriously mind-blowing and as unpredictable as a rollercoaster ride. I wished the same fast-paced action had happened earlier since I felt almost overwhelmed by the huge number of twists in the last few chapters as well as the ENORMOUS cliffhanger, but I did enjoy reading the ending though. Nonetheless, I really would not have minded it if there would have been a clearer answer to Cara’s phoenix conflict, especially since many actions at the end of the book felt a little bit too rashed and pressed, leaving many questions unanswered. The ending does however perfectly reflect the wonderfully developed dynamics of Cara and Logan’s relationship and I was surprised how Ashelyn stayed true to Logan’s sarcastic voice despite the dramatic situation.

Ashelyn Drake’s writing is commanding and stunning — I could not pull myself away from the book’s hypnotic grasp. While I would not exactly call the book’s plot “innovative”, the book is a unique twist on the phoenix theme though, making Into the Fire an exhilarating and refreshing novel and ultimately, an unforgettable read!

3.5Schmetterling

AboutTheAuthor

Ashelyn DrakeAshelyn Drake is a New Adult and Young Adult romance author. While it’s rare for her not to have either a book in hand or her fingers flying across a laptop, she also enjoys spending time with her family. She believes you are never too old to enjoy a good swing set and there’s never a bad time for some drk chocolate. She is represented by Sarah Negovetich of Corvisiero Literary Agency.

Author Links:  Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway on this blog tour!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

9 thoughts on “Review: Into the Fire

  1. I thought this would be another insta-love story but it seems like the author does place emphasis on character development. And it’s great to hear that the writing style is stunning— writing style alone can make or break a book!

    The blurb is so intriguing, plus I love mythology. Come to think of it, I haven’t read many books about phoenixes so far (other than Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix XD), so I might give this one a shot 😀 Awesome review!

    Like

    • There’s DEFINITELY lots of insta-love, and I’d even say the whole story is based on the romance and NOT the mythology aspect. The whole story is all about love, falling in love and stuff! (Don’t know if you’re a sucker for such books….I, for my part, can only enjoy such books once in a while 😀 )

      And ha, I know what you mean with Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix!! I think it was the only book I read dealing with phoenixes as well until Into the Fire. 😀 Thank you ♥

      Like

  2. I wanted to read this book, because of the cool mythology phoenix thing. That’s so disappointing that the romance is the main feature. Ah well at least now I know, this can be downgraded to might read. Nice review. 🙂

    Like

    • Yay, thanks! ❤️ I know right? And doesn’t the cover just look ridiculously pretty? Well, yes, for a mythology geek like me this theme was explored rather “poorly” I guess (it’s not poor in its original sense but rather in terms of “not satisfying enough”…if you know what I mean 😀 ) Doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy the book after all but I really wished we would’ve gotten some more in-depth details. And who knows, maybe we’ll get to see more in Book 2?

      Like

    • Yay, thank you ♥ That’s exactly the reason why I just couldn’t wait to read the book (besides the phoenix theme of course)! Everything just looks so pretty on the cover — the colours, the girl’s hair and even her hand position 😀

      Like

  3. thanks for reviewing this! I’ve been saying it pop up on my goodreads’ recommended books section and I’ve been thinking about getting it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

